Compare · checked 19 October 2026

Amoeba vs Zesty Disk

Both reduce the cost of block storage. Here is what each one does, side by side, from each company’s own pages.

At a glance

What each one is, in its maker’s words.

Zoorik

Amoeba

Rightsizes block storage on Azure managed disks and Amazon EBS, autonomously, without any downtime.

See Amoeba

Zesty (independent; bought Qubex in Nov 2024, per Zesty's own Kompass launch release)

Zesty Disk

Kubernetes pod rightsizing, replica and placement optimization, EKS PV autoscaling, Zesty Disk for EBS, and commitment management.

docs.zesty.co/docs/zesty-disk (opens in a new tab)

Side by side

From the product pages and docs of each.

Amoeba and Zesty Disk, side by side
AmoebaZesty Disk
Grows and shrinks block storage✓Yes · pools a VM's data disks and grows and shrinks the pool✓Yes · PV autoscaling extends and shrinks EKS PVs (existing PVCs must be migrated first); Zesty Disk grows and shrinks EBS filesystems on EC2: Linux (Btrfs or OpenZFS) and Windows Server 2016-2025 (Windows removes only the last-added volume); AWS only source 1 (opens in a new tab) source 2 (opens in a new tab) source 3 (opens in a new tab)
Azure managed disks✓Yes · Azure managed disks on VMs–No · not among the clouds its pages name source (opens in a new tab)
Amazon EBS✓Yes · EBS data volumes on EC2✓Yes source (opens in a new tab)
Kubernetes volumes (EKS)–No · VM data disks, not Kubernetes volumes✓Yes · EKS 1.28+; PV autoscaling needs the EBS CSI add-on source 1 (opens in a new tab) source 2 (opens in a new tab)
Resizes without downtime◐Partly · the services on the data mounts restart once, at the switch onto the pool; after that the pool grows and shrinks without unmounting✓Yes · In-place pod resize on EKS 1.33+; Zesty Disk moves data at runtime without restart (some agent installs on RHEL/Rocky need one instance restart) source 1 (opens in a new tab) source 2 (opens in a new tab) source 3 (opens in a new tab)
Self-hosted or air-gapped option–No · the agent runs on your VM; the control plane is SaaS on Microsoft Azure, Central India?Not stated · AWS listings are SaaS; security page says hosted on Amazon data centers; no self-hosted option mentioned source (opens in a new tab)
Installs with Helm or Terraform–No · an agent on each VM; on AWS it installs through Systems Manager✓Yes · Helm chart for PV autoscaling and the Kubernetes agent; Terraform module onboards AWS accounts and gives Helm values for Kompass; Zesty Disk can be managed with Terraform source 1 (opens in a new tab) source 2 (opens in a new tab)
On AWS Marketplace–No · not listed yet✓Yes · Zesty Platform and Zesty Disk listings source 1 (opens in a new tab) source 2 (opens in a new tab)
On Microsoft Marketplace–No · not listed yet–No · No publisher starting 'Zesty' in Microsoft's public Marketplace catalog (19 Oct) source (opens in a new tab)
Free tier or trial◐Partly · a free disk assessment; the product in early access, by demo?Not stated · Pricing page lists no trial or free tier; offers a free cost efficiency calculator and an ROI projection; AWS listings show no trial source (opens in a new tab)
Published pricingNot published: the price and terms come with your orderPricing page: 'Usage-based pricing', 'Pricing based on actual usage and realized savings', no figures. PV autoscaling page: 'a base fee plus a fee per storage managed by Zesty', billed on capacity after optimization. AWS Marketplace: Zesty Platform 1-month contract $5,000.00 per month, overage $1.00 per unit. Zesty Disk is a $0.00 12-month contract plus usage: $0.025 per GB up to 300,000 GB, $0.015 up to 1,000,000 GB and $0.01 above. source 1 (opens in a new tab) source 2 (opens in a new tab) source 3 (opens in a new tab) source 4 (opens in a new tab)

Zesty Disk is a trademark of its owner. Everything said here about Zesty Disk comes from its own public pages, each linked, checked 19 October 2026. “Not stated” means its pages do not say. Something changed? Write to founders@zoorik.com and we will correct it.

Find your own number

One line in your cloud console. One PDF report with your estimated saving at list price.

Estimate your saving

Talk to the builders

Thirty minutes with the people who build Coral and Amoeba.

Book a demo (opens in a new tab)

Or write to founders@zoorik.com